Tags

, , , ,

Everyone had their reasons for working out. Some do it for what they see in the mirror, some do it to attract others, some do it to be the best they can be, and there are some who don’t see any need to work out at all. I think there are as many, if not more, reasons why someone’s diet and nutrition is what it is. Some do it for health reasons, some for religious beliefs, some for personal beliefs, and there are even some who don’t have a reason and eat whatever they want.

I have to admit, I have been many of these people during many points of my life. I have worked out and dieted for the “beach body.” I have also been “too busy” to eat healthy and keep my fitness at the top of my priority list. When I finished paramedic school in 2006, I weighed 235 pounds, had a 38″ waist, and didn’t even think twice about what I was eating, when I was eating, or the fact that I hadn’t worked out in days, or sometimes weeks. I know I have no one else to blame but myself for this, but I do think that we all adapt to our surroundings. I wasn’t surrounded by super healthy, fit people. Food was a very social part of my life. Although I was able to lose 20 pounds or so over the next year, I still did not have a regular workout routine and food remained a social part of my life in which I ate whatever I wanted, when I wanted.

This all changed for me toward the end of 2012, I made some significant changes in my life and started to pay more attention to myself, my fitness, and what I fueled my body with. I started CrossFit in February 2012 with my girlfriend, now my fiancé, after deciding to purchase a one month membership through LivingSocial. By the end of the first month, I was hooked! I enjoyed the weightlifting aspect, the idea of everyone suffering together and completing the same workout, and the friendships that developed quickly because everyone was there to do the same thing. To make themselves better.

During the first few months of CrossFit, I had heard people talk about Paleo, to be very basic it’s a diet in which you eat meat, non-starchy vegetables, some fruit and nuts, but no dairy or grains. Shannon, my fiancé, and I decided to enter into a 21-day Paleo challenge at our box in July, 2012, and we haven’t looked back. While we didn’t win the competition, we both noticed changes in how we felt as well as physical changes. Since starting Paleo, I have made significant gains in my weightlifting and have lost an additional 20 pounds, currently I weigh 185 pounds.

I weigh less than I did when I graduated high school and felt better than I ever have. And I owe it all to CrossFit, the Paleo lifestyle, and the amazing people I am surrounded by who constantly motivate me and push me to try my hardest day in and day out. It is this feeling, that I wish everyone could feel, and what I hope to share with people through my blog posts. I see this blog as an opportunity for me to share my experiences with CrossFit, my Paleo creations, ways to remain Paleo while dining out, local restaurant review in the Reno/Tahoe area, and various other related topics. Thanks for checking out my blog, please come back for more! Until next time, remember to CrossFit to improve yourself, Paleo to fuel your body, and Life will be better than ever.

