Tags

, , , ,

Grilled Ribeye, Butternut Squash, and Kale SaladI have been getting asked a lot to post recipes, so here’s three! This meal is very close to what I had as my first Paleo dinner when I started The Primal Blueprint 21-Day Challenge, which made me realize, I could eat delicious food, and it is still Paleo. I think oftentimes people add so many spices, marinades, or sauces to meat that the actual flavor of the meat is lost. Now that I’ve been eating Paleo for over eight months, I have definitely come to realize that meat tastes good, there is no need to load on tons and tons of spices. OK, enough of the rambling, here’s what I made for dinner last night and how I made it!

Grilled Rib-Eye Steak

Ingredients:

  • Rib-Eye Steaks
  • Kosher Salt
  • Fresh Ground Pepper

About fifteen minutes before putting the steak on the grill, remove it from the refrigerator. Sprinkle a pinch of kosher salt and pepper on each side of the steak. Grill on medium-high heat, turning once. Plain, simple, delicious!

Roasted Butternut SquashRoasted Butternut Squash

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound Butternut Squash, cubed
  • 1 Apple, cored and cubed
  • 3 tablespoons Coconut Oil, melted
  • 3 tablespoons Honey
  • 1/4 cup Almonds, chopped
  • 1/4 teaspoon Cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon Nutmeg

Pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees. Place the squash and apple in a 9″ x 9″ baking dish with 2 tablespoons of water. Roast, uncovered, for 20 minutes (until almost cooked through). Meanwhile, combine the rest of the ingredients in a mixing bowl, and stir to combine. Remove the squash from the oven and add the honey mixture, stir to coat the squash and apples. Return to the oven for another 10 to 15 minutes, or until the squash is fork tender. Remove from oven and serve.

Kale Saladphoto-3

Ingredients

  • 1 bunch Kale, finely chopped           **See note below
  • 1 Lemon, halved
  •  1/4 cup Pine Nuts
  • 1 Avocado

Place the kale in a large mixing bowl, add the juice from the lemon. Cube the avocado and add to the kale. Using your hands, smash the avocado so it coats the kale and mixes well with the lemon juice. Top with the pine nuts, serve chilled.

**Note: Because Kale is very fibrous, remove the stems and the larger ribs before chopping for the salad. The smaller you can chop the kale, the better. As you can see in the picture of my salad, the kale is less than 1/2″ in my salad.

Give this a try! It’s a great meal that will make you realize that Paleo isn’t just able salad and lean meat. Let me know what you think!

