Tags

, , ,

For those of you just getting into the swing of things, Paleo may seem a lot more difficult than it actually is. You’re probably hungry every few hours, dealing with cravings, and maybe even feeling like you’re stuck eating the same meal day after day. As I said in my previous post, Paleo Pointers, you need to be creative. This weekend I am taking the Level I course in San Jose and, because of my traveling, I had to get a little creative myself. Maintaining your diet while on the road can be difficult for anyone. Maintaining Strict Paleo, during a six-week Paleo Challenge, can be even more difficult. This is why I want to share some of what I brought with me so that I can stay on track, without starving myself.

  • Beef Jerky: Not long after I started Paleo, I found a Paleo Beef Jerkybeef jerky recipe that is absolutely amazing. A London Broil steak works quite well for this recipe. If you put the meat in the freezer for about an hour, it will be frozen enough to cut thin enough that it will work for jerky. Another option is to use thin sliced carne asada meat, found at most grocery stores. This meat is already sliced thin, so you don’t have to go through the hassle of slicing the meat thin.
  • Grilled Chicken Breast: For this trip I wanted to be able to grab some protein on the go, without needing to have a full meal. I decided to slide a chicken breast in thirds, lengthwise, and grill it up. I seasoned it with a small amount of garlic salt, pepper, and italian seasoning and after cooking it, put it in a plastic bag in the cooler.
  • Fruit: If you are including fruit in your diet, this is definitely a great option for eating on the go. Some of my favorites include an apple with almond butter, celery with almond butter and some raisins, and bananas.
  • Trail Mix: Again, if you’re including fruit, or nuts, in your diet, you can throw together some nuts and dried fruit and you have yourself a great grab on the go Paleo snack.

These are just a couple of options for snacks that I brought with me this weekend. There are plenty of other options, but almost all of them require some preparing your food at home, rather than stopping on the side of the road at a fast food restaurant. So now you know what I brought with me this weekend. What do you take with you for Paleo snacks?

