Tags

, , ,

I think many of us automatically look to the scale when we start a new “diet.” It makes sense, we change our eating habits and assume that the pounds should start falling off our bodies and that we will see noticeable results within weeks. In a way, I think this is a flaw that has been brought on by society and the idea that the fitness is defined by your body shape.

I think we first need to think about what the main goal is with “dieting,” and especially with the Paleo. I have been living a Paleo lifestyle since July, 2012. I started in thinking it would be a good way for me to lose weight, but as time went by, I came to the realization that it isn’t so much about how I look as it is how I perform. Of course I am happy with the way I look, it’s admittedly the best I ever have looked in my opinion, but that’s not my main motivation to eat how I do. I have talked before, and continue to do so because it is really important to me, about how I consider food to be fuel for my body rather than a treat or something I need to have three times a day at seven, twelve, and five. I know now if I don’t eat 30-45 minutes before a workout I don’t perform as well. I also know that if I eat within 20 minutes of a workout, I will probably end up tasting it again. Heavy leg days result in me being hungry every couple of hours for the rest of the day.

The only weight I pay attention to is the weight on the bar. My performance is more important to me than how much I weigh. Over the past month, I haven’t lost any weight but my strength has gone up and my body fat has gone down. If I was only focused on what the scale says, I would surely have become frustrated. I think this is what a lot of people do, and no one should! The point I am trying to make is that even when the scale is the same, your body can be completely changed. Below are two pictures of me. On the left side, I weighed 195 pounds (taken last July) and the picture on the right was taken last weekend on ym wedding day. Same weight on the scale, but two different bodies.

195 pounds, two different ways

Left: me at 195 pounds in July 2012
Right: me at 195 pounts last weekend

Here’s what I ask of you, stop tracking your weight on the scale and start tracking your weights in the gym. Get a WODBook, one of the apps I talked about that tracks your workouts, or even a notebook and start keeping track of the workouts. Write down the weight you did and the time it took you. Another great idea is to jot down notes about how you felt. These are the important things to keep track of, not the number on the scale!

